IEEE International Symposium on Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks
11-14 November 2019 // Newark, NJ, USA

Call for Papers

Collaborative dynamic spectrum sharing enables mixtures of Primary and Secondary Users (PU/SU) to dynamically, and opportunistically, share spectrum while adhering to a sharing policy that protects the operation of PUs and maximizes spectrum utility, i.e., system performance, of the ensemble of SUs. This operating concept obviates existing approaches for statically assigning spectrum to users and will create new spectrum sharing opportunities, while significantly improving spectrum utilization.

This workshop will explore the challenges and opportunities for designing, implementing, and testing collaborative dynamic spectrum sharing technology. We encourage papers that avoid point-solutions, and instead offer general technical solutions that can meet the requirements of a wide range of users. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • inter-system dynamic information-exchange protocols and languages,
  • spectrum sensing/monitoring,
  • autonomous decision making architectures and algorithms,
  • multi-agent learning and decision making,
  • AI  methods and techniques for spectrum sharing,
  • economic and game theoretical aspects,
  • radio stack architectures, implementations, and cross-layer protocols,
  • QoS-awareness and context-aware mobile networking,
  • adaptive/cognitive radio network/link/flow control protocols and mechanisms,
  • impact of multi-antenna technologies,
  • bi-directional Primary/Secondary User spectrum sharing techniques and architectures,
  • system testing, metrics, and design verification at scale,
  • standardization of system architectures and protocols, and
  • sharing opportunities in the 5G ecosystem.


Paper Submission Format

  • Authors will need to follow the IEEE conference paper style. View details about the format.
  • The maximum page limit for the workshop papers is 6 pages, including references and appendices.
  • To submit your paper, visit the following link:


Important Dates

  • Paper Submission Deadline: 4 October 2019
  • Acceptance Notification: 9 October 2019
  • Camera-Ready Deadline: 15 October 2019
  • Workshop Date: 14 November 2019



(Lead) Alex Lackpour (Drexel University)

Carlos E. Caicedo Bastidas (Syracuse University)